Design Award

Background Information

The ASBCI Student Design Award has been a significant presence for fashion students since 1994. Past sponsors have included Shop Direct, Topshop, Matalan, Adams Childrenswear, Marks & Spencer, BMB Menswear, GUS, Wallis, Republic and Director-e.

The sponsoring company typically sets a brief which is sent, via the ASBCI, to the various member colleges/universities in the UK for inclusion in the syllabus for the autumn term.

Entries can be as many as 200 participants from the colleges approached. In most cases, initial design boards are submitted to the ASBCI for judging and short-listing by the sponsor. The sponsor decides how many finalists to choose which is normally 10 or 12, but has been as many as 16 because of the exceptional standard of work.

The selected finalists are often funded by the sponsor to purchase fabrics to make up the garments, which are then submitted for the final judging. The competition comes to a close with a fashion show at an ASBCI event showcasing the design finalists' work, and the announcement of the winners.

Pictured right is 2014 Design Award winner Jamie Long from the University of Huddersfield (far left), with Yvette Ashby, Managing Director at Director-e.

Student Design Award 2015

Dress-up specialist R H Smith & Sons is the sponsor for the 2015 Award, and have set students a challenge to create something which is both fun and sensational for its world class Fever Collection.

Fever leads the worldwide market for unique, fashion led and inspirational fancy dress costumes. Partcipants will develop two male and two female costumes for either a Halloween party or 21st birthday party.

Ten finalists will be selected to make up either a male or a female outfit and the sponsor will be provide each with £100 to fund their fabrics. The garment will then be submitted for final judging.

Pictured above is the R H Smith & Sons team assessing the design boards from this year's entrants.

Prizes and Presentation

Participants will be expected to present their final garments, discuss their research and explain their design conclusions in writing. Prizes will be awarded to the winners chosen by a senior member of R H Smith & Sons.

1st Prize £1500

2nd Prize £1000

3rd Prize £750

An additional prize of £1000 will be given to the winning university/college.

Announcement of the winners will take place at the ASBCI AGM on Wednesday, 25th March 2015 at Barnsdale Lodge Hotel, Rutland Water.



2014 1st Prize: Jamie Long, University of Huddersfield. 2nd Prize: Emily Colley, University of Leeds. 3rd Prize: Daisy Walsh, De Montfort University.

2012 1st Prize: Jennifer Harding, Leeds College of Art & Design. 2nd Prize: Amanda Salway, De Montfort University. 3rd Prize: Katherine Sherry, University of Leeds